Shout out to Steph!

It’s been a while since I’ve done a ‘proper’ blog post. Around this time of year my motivation is always low and recently I’d just run out of enthusiasm. However, last night I went along to a spoken word open mic night with my sister and some of her friends. Jawdance is run by Apples and Snakes in Shoreditch. You put your name in a hat and they draw out 12 people to perform. My sister told me she went for two years by herself before plucking up the courage to put her name in. Even then, you don’t get picked often and she’s only ever been picked once.

I was over the moon when, at the beginning of the second half, the compare picked her name out. I’ve seen her videos a million times and she’s sent me countless audio clips of new material but nothing compares to seeing it live. I know how insecure she is about her work, so I was worried that nerves would get the better of her. As soon as she walked up on stage and got behind the mic, I knew I was worrying for nothing. She was so confident and recited her piece flawlessly (even though she’ll tell you she fucked it up) with such style and humour. She had full command of the audience and it’s the first time I’ve really seen her at her best. Even her audio clips and youtube videos, filmed in the comfort on her own home without anyone watching or listening, seem a little awkward in comparison. This was my sister unleashed, turned up to 11, doing something she loves and you could tell.

WP_20160127_20_55_45_Pro

I might be biased, but she is so amazingly talented and I hate knowing that she is so insecure about it when I know she can put on a performance like this. Loads of people came up to her at the end to show their appreciation and she even got asked to perform at someone’s spoken word night! I’m so glad I went along, as well as being able to witness my sister like I’ve never seen her before, it’s given me so much motivation do get on and do the things I want to do.

Bursting with pride!

