I love trials unicycling, it’s what got me into one wheel in the first place. Unfortunately, you don’t see too many pure trials videos these days, especially from great riders such as Mark. I was extremely pleased to see this pop up in my newsfeed today.

Viva El Trial is a short celebrating ten years of riding for Mark. It’s very well shot and has some insane lines, as you’d expect from such a groundbreaking rider.

One thing I love about this video is the fact that Mark is customising spots. All riders will know the feeling of finding a spot that would be just that bit better if that curb was just slightly higher or if that crack wasn’t right on the run-up. This is something I’ve seen happen a lot in skateboarding and it’s good to see it happening in unicycling too. Some would say the art to trials is riding the spot as you find it. However, I don’t think there’s any shame in making a spot better, especially when we’re talking about lines like in the video above.

