‘With riding bikes again, honest truth is, I was never like ‘Oh I’ll never ride a bike’ and then someone said ‘Maybe you can, Martyn!’. It’s just like, I guess because of the people that bike riders are, we’re just like ‘I wonder how we’ll do that.’ It was almost fun straight away, I was instantly like, ‘I’ve gotta learn how to ride bikes again, so that’s going to be pretty funny.”

Martyn Ashton talking about the inevitability of him getting back on a bike.

For those of you that don’t know, Martyn was a professional trials bike rider. He sustained a life changing back injury during one of his shows in 2013 and is paralysed from around the waist down.

I knew it wouldn’t be long until he was back on a bike. The only thing I didn’t know, was how he was going to do it. Yesterday I found out.

Watching this video makes me so happy. Seeing him having fun on his bike with his mates. I think it captures the essence of what is fun about cycling. Freewheeling downhill with your mates, laughing and getting sketchy.

The interview is definitely worth a watch too. I love what he says about bike riders, because I feel that it does reflect most of our personalities. Most cyclists are definitely doers. Martyn isn’t letting his disability stop him and it’s an inspiration to see. I can’t wait to see him ride that cup course.

