New Camera

It’s been a while since I blogged about any of my media work, I’ve been fairly quiet over the summer, bar Eddstagram USA. This week I bought a new camera, so with any luck I’ll be able to shoot some nice videos in the near future.  In the end I went with the Song A7s. It’s my first full-frame camera and quite a step-up from my trusty Samsung HMX-20C

I did write a blog post about the three different cameras I was looking into buying and the Sony was fairly low down on my list at the time. I absolutely loved the images that it can produce but I was stumbling over the rolling shutter issues. However, after seeing the sheer number of stunning films shot on this camera and the praises that other filmakers were singing about it, I decided to go with my heart and buy the Sony.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL MOVIE

First impressions are so-so. It’s extremely small, to the point where it almost feels like a compact. On the plus side, it’s very inconspicuous. It doesn’t look like a £2k camera. I’ll have to get some type of rig if I want to shoot skate style with it, but I’m planning on printing one using my brothers 3D printer. More on that as it happens.
It’s going to take me a while to get used to the controls, I’m so used to Canons. I do like the positive feel of all the dials and wheels though. It feels much better made than the Canons.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL MOVIE

To cut down on initial layout, I’m using all the Canon FD glass I already own with it. I’m using a cheap FD-E mount adapter so I can’t use it in Auto, but that doesn’t bother me. Some of the lenses I have are super nice and I’m really excited to see what I can shoot using my 135mm prime. So far I actually haven’t had a chance to shoot anything worth posting, but I’ve got a day off tomorrow so as long as the weather isn’t too miserable, I’m planning on going out and giving it a good test.

College Work

I’m now studying on a HNC film course. It’s a similar course to the BTEC level 3 that I’ve just completed but it focusses purely on film making, which is exactly what I am interested in. It’s also a Level 4 course and leads onto the HND, which is Level 5. If I want, I could go to uni after the HND for a year and get the full degree.
Our first project is a music video and I’m part of a small production team working on the assignment. We have to find real-world clients for all the products we make on the HNC and HND, so we’re shooting a video for Rocket Science’ track Flora. I’m acting as camera operator in the team. We’ve shot everything we need and are in the edit at the moment. I’m pretty happy with the rushes we’ve got and if we can get it edited well too, I’ll be really happy with it. Here’s a few stills, straight from the camera.

Woburn-2

Woburn-1

Screenshot 2014-11-21 at 6.35.52 PM

Screenshot 2014-11-21 at 6.33.21 PM

Screenshot 2014-11-21 at 6.31.00 PM

Obviously once the video’s done I’ll post that up too.

Lastly, I made a showreel. I’m not very happy with it, it seems quite pathetic compared to some I’ve seen, so I don’t think I’m going to put it on my website. I’ll probably wait till I’ve got some nice footage from the Sony. I’ll post it here for you readers though.

That’s all folks!

