After spending a day at Puds recovering, we decided to have a BBQ before leaving for UNICON, the unicycling world championships. It was a really chilled evening which ended in a heated table football match.

DSC00199

DSC00251

 

The next morning we packed the Explorer and donned our Team GB shirts, ready to hit the road for Montreal which is where UNICON was being held. The Explorer belongs to Pud and he’s letting us borrow it for the trip. He only uses it over winter and the brakes are rubbish and make a horrible grinding sound. Despite that, we all fell in love with it straight away, especially the sound from the 5 litre V8!

DSC00260

 

The drive was about 650 miles. We left a little later than planned and we stopped a couple of times on the way which made our total travel time 15 hours. At one of our stops we got chatting to a woman who had lived in Leighton Buzzard. She introduced us to her Dad who used to work at Wing Airfield during the war. How mental is that?!

We arrived at UNICON at 1:30am. Luckily there were plenty of people up still and we managed to find our room (Which actually turned out to not be room!) and crashed out for the night. Here is one of many photos from the drive.

 

DSC00330

 

The next day was mainly spent registering for UNICON and getting ourselves settled. One thing I did was sort out my money. Having just spent 4 days travelling solid, I’d acquired quite a few different currencies. I had English pounds, Icelandic Krona, US Dollars and Canadian Dollars. I felt like a total boss!

DSC00345

Trials was the very next day. I was still feeling a little tired from travelling but the course looked really good. I decided that I was going to just ride for fun rather than trying to kill myself to get a good place. I almost wasn’t allowed to ride because I didn’t have knee pads, nice of them to change the goalposts at the last minute. Luckily I managed to borrow a pair and still take part. Big Thanks to Aaron for lending me his pads.
I wasn’t riding very well but was quite pleased with my result. I came 7th in my age group. Not amazing but I haven’t ridden much recently so I wasn’t expecting to place high.

DSC00419

That evening was spent drinking beer, seeing old friends and making new ones. Rob had a go at unicycling and almost nailed it, everyone had a go with Sam’s leg and Aaron ran into a glass pane.

DSC00487

DSC00479

The next day we decided to explore Montreal. The entire city is designed for cycling, so what better way to see it than by bike. We found a small bike shop, rented some bikes and spent the day hacking around the city. We cycled unto the top of Mont Royal which has spectacular views over the city. Well worth the uphill climb!

DSC00517

DSC00525

That evening we watched the flatland comp. The setting was really cool, just underneath the Olympic stadium from the 1976 olympics. Even though the stadium is getting pretty old it still looks like a modern building. It must have been insane when it was first built!

DSC00569

We’ve done lots more, but I’ll post about that another time.

Good times!

