There’s a line I’ve been eyeing up for a while but it goes straight onto a busy road. I’d never have a chance to hit it normally but I thought if I got up early on Easter Sunday I may be in with a chance. So, up at 6am and out the door by 7, I got to the spot for around half 7 and the road was quiet enough for me to give it a go. It felt really good getting up early in order to go and hit a line I’ve been looking at for ages. It also reminded me that unicycling is all about getting out there and finding new, cool and fun stuff to ride. A great start to the day!

Photo0827

After hitting that spot I was feeling good, so I decided to go and have a look at another line I’d been thinking about for a while. A couple of years actually.
I did a gap in my last 24″ street video between two ledges. It’s a slight drop gap and I wanted to step it up for my new video so I’d been thinking about doing it the other way. I took a look at it this morning and it looked doable. I gave it a couple of dummy runs and after convincing myself I was getting enough distance and height I sent it. I was surprised at how easy it felt to the point that I wondered why I’d never tried it before. Here’s a still, you’ll have to wait for the video though.

vlcsnap-2014-04-20-11h26m44s154

It finally feels like I’m getting back into unicycling and I’m really enjoying it again. I’ve started riding stuff that is fun to do as well as challenging. I’m not so hung up on the fact I can’t do many tricks and it’s improved my outlook on riding greatly.
Having said that, my friend and fellow BMX rider, Swoggles, taught me to footjam in the week, which is something I thought I’d never be able to do. He explained that if you can’t do something it’s because you are doing something wrong. You have to be super critical and pinpoint whatever it is you’re doing wrong and consciously force yourself to correct it. That may seem obvious, but it’s something I’ve never done before.
It can be difficult to do, but I definitely experienced this technique working while I was learning footjams on my bike and when I was trying the up-gap this morning. I’m going to apply it to other areas of my riding to see if I can learn some new things. Big ups to the man Swogs!

All this and back in time for breakfast. Happy Easter readers!

