It’s officially summertime!
With that in mind, I’ve been preparing myself by getting together a summery playlist. Here’s my selection of tunes to see you through those long, hot summer days we get so many of during the English summer.

Shy FX & T Power – Lovers Rock
This has such a summery vibe and always makes me think of the sun. Reminds me of those long summer evening barbeques.

Good Charlotte – Girls & Boys
I don’t know why this makes me feel summery. Probably because it takes me back to the summer of 2003 when I left school.

Ice Cube – Today Was A Good Day
Pull up a chair around the patio heater, beer in hand, meat sizzling on the BBQ after a days riding. I think that was probably Ice Cubes inspiration.

Bachelors Of Science – Hold On Feat. Redeyes
This track always makes me think of summer. I think it’s because of that awesome strings riff. Pure relaxation.

Dilated Peoples – Worst Comes To Worst
This is the ultimate summer hip hop tune for me. This has always been my favourite Dilated Peoples track but when I roadtripped around Europe in 2012 the only CD we had with us was ‘Expansion Team’. I still love this track.

Katy Perry feat. Snoop Dogg n- California Girls
Ok, so this isn’t what I’d normally listen to but it was in the charts when I was traveling the US. In California this was played in between almost every other track on the radio. It reminds me of driving in the sun with the windows down, marveling at the amazing scenery. Good times!

DJ Marky & XRS – LK feat. Stamina MC
DJ Marky always reminds me of warm summer nights spent clubbing. This track particularly reminds me of Cubes for some reason. Classic!

and of course, no summer playlist is complete without Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince. Chillin’!

