I’ve always been into photography. My first camera was an old Zenit that my Mum got me for my 13th birthday. I used to shoot snaps with it back in the day, they would mostly come out crap because I had no idea what I was doing.
More recently, while doing my media course at college I’ve become interested in photography again and I’ve been looking at getting a DSLR. I want to go full-frame, so my options are fairly pricey. In the mean-time, I’ve decided to use what I already have and shoot on my old Zenit.

Photo0799

It’s fairly expensive, paying out for film and then to get it developed but in a way that makes me more picky about what I choose to shoot. I know I’m going to have to pay for every single exposure so it needs to be worthy. It really makes you think twice before you press that shutter.
Now I’ve learnt how to use a camera properly I feel much more in control too. That’s not to say that every photo comes out how I want though. Shooting on film is so different to digital and it’s going to take more than a couple of rolls to get used to it.
I’m really enjoying it though. Here’s a few of my favourite shots from the last week or so.

img001

img002

img003

img008

img009

img012

My new header is a self portrait I took that actually took two attempts. The first one I accidentally fired the shutter because I’d forgotten how to set the timer. Doh!
img013

