Considering I had no specific plans today, I feel like I’ve done loads! I’ve got quite a few different topics to write about tonight, so I’ll start from the end of the day and work backwards.

Dunstable Skatepark

Yes, you did read that right. Dunstable is getting a skatepark. The skatepark project is finally on wheels and gathering momentum. I got invited to a meeting this evening by Pete Smith (Pedro) to look over the tenders sent in by numerous skatepark builders. The project has a total budget of about £240k. The skatepark will be fenced, floodlit and have CCTV.

Photo0719

The final tenders to be presented to the council are from the following companies.

Gravity

Maverick

Freestyle

Canvas

Acrete

Wheelscape

All designs sent in have strong and weak points. There was much discussion over what we should and shouldn’t have. The council have the final word over which company will win the contract but we can help sway the descision by offering our opinion. I’ve been invited to the meeting on Tuesday, so I’ll keep you up to date with this project as it progresses. Exciting times to be a BMX/Skater in Dunstable!

Camera Stuff!

I’ve been badgering my tutor about this camera for ages. I’ve been wanting to borrow it so I can get some experience with a camera other than a DSLR and practice using it before I start shooting my documentary. I’ve always loved the look of the Canon XL series cameras, so it’s great to finally have a play around with one.

Photo0714

An unexpected bonus is that when digging out some Mini DV tapes to use in it, I found a load of old footage that I thought was lost forever. It must be getting on for 10 years old now, so it’s a great reminder to see how far both Leo and I have come on as riders. I’ve captured it all and have it as uncompressed video on my computer. I might even edit some of it together into a short video.

vlcsnap-2014-02-19-21h25m58s186

vlcsnap-2014-02-19-21h26m33s26

Riding/Driving

Now I have a car on the road again I feel like I’ll be able to get out riding more. Last week while driving for work I went under a motorway bridge that looked cool for riding. I took a drive out there this afternoon with my unicycle to see if there were any lines to be had. It wasn’t great, but it reminded me that riding is all about getting out there and seeing new places and having fun on your unicycle.
Photo0710
Photo0713

In a similar vein, I saw this video yesterday. It’s well worth the 22 minutes. I can’t wait for my next adventure!