I went to a friends 50th birthday party in Billingham on Friday and on the drive there my sister and I talked about everything. It was great to chat to her, something I don’t often do, but we brushed on something that made me think and I’ve been thinking about it all today while I was working. Are we too materialistic?

Ever since my phone started showing signs of it’s slow demise I’ve been looking at Nokia Lumias on Ebay. I’ve been watching ones that are locked to O2, hoping to bag a cheap one that not many other people bid on. Today while I was driving around delivering peoples shopping I realised I don’t even need a smart phone. I don’t know why I’ve been thinking about buying one, I don’t even want one. I have an MP3 player for listening to music, I have a laptop for checking my emails and Facebook and I have a mobile phone that still works perfectly, yet I still feel like I NEED a smartphone. I don’t know if it’s all the adverts I see, my friends reactions when they see my mobile phone or something else but it’s hard to resist the pull of a shiny new smartphone.

I don’t really have a conclusion to this post, but it’s something that I have been thinking about. Are we conditioned to spend money to make ourselves feel better? Do we really need everything we buy? I’m going to spend the money I would have spent on a phone on bits for my Metro and get that running. I DO need to to that 🙂

