Today is a sad day.
I’d been having a bad day anyway, with the shite weather meaning I got a soaking while cycling to college, my bullet-time footage hasn’t come out great (more on that below) and my van just generally getting me down. I came home to find my entire Facebook news feed taken up with posts from Woburn Sands Bike Park, my favourite local spot for muni.
The landowner has alleged that some of the trees have been undercut and are in danger of falling over. They are saying they need to plough the jumps and DH runs in order to get in and fell the affected trees. I don’t go down there that often so I don’t know a lot about it, but there is certainly a lot of mud-slinging going on from some of the bikers. Some are saying that the landowner just wants them gone, others are saying it is just temporary and the park will be open again in 3 weeks.
Whatever the case, it’s going to take a long time to get the park back to how it was before.

Here’s a photo I took on a mission up there last year.
178912_10150832155352987_294244352_n

It’s pretty hard to tell, but this photo is from almost the same angle, taken today.
1522462_10203241755304969_1802786947_o

RIP Woburn.

Bullet-Time Update!

It’s been almost a week since I last updated the bullet-time project. I’ve spent the entire time compressing the footage. Today I finished the last few bits and could start to get the footage into Premiere and start the edit.
The biggest kick in the balls is that the framing is off on a few of the cameras. The second biggest is that it isn’t as smooth as I wanted it. I can sort the framing out with lots of patience but there’s absolutely nothing I can do to make it smoother.
I don’t want to give it away so no more video until the finished product, but here’s a screenshot from the edit.
Untitled-1

Peace!

