So, yesterday came and went and so did my bullet-time shoot. The day actually started on Wednesday evening when I went to Milton Keynes to pick up a camera from my friend, Dom. On Thursday I was up bright and early and on the road by 7am. I had to go and pick my rider , Matt, up from Brackley, a 2 hour round trip. We arrived at college just after 9am and started setting up around 9:30.
I was so worried that lots of people would forget their cameras but luckily I only had 2 no-shows. None of the HNC students were using cameras either, so I managed to blag five 7D’s from the HNC course, bringing my total to 20. Not a total disaster!

IMG_8701

I’d devised a tracking system to help me make sure everyone got their own stuff back and that took a little while to sort out. Once I’d worked out my workflow it ran pretty smoothly though and was a massive help when I came to return all the gear. Now, I knew from my test shoots that it was going to take a while to set up, but I wasn’t prepared for just how much longer it would take.

IMG_8697

I started setting up around 10am and by 3pm I was just about ready to shoot. I think it took me so long because I was being extra careful to make sure all the settings were identical on every camera and they were all focused and aligned properly. I knew I only had one chance at this and I’d be gutted if I fucked it up by rushing. The array was the coolest looking thing I have seen in a long time. It suddenly all felt real and I was excited and nervous at the same time.

IMG_8719
IMG_8703

Once I was all setup it was time for Matt to go to work. Matt’s riding has always impressed me and this was no exception. He landed most tricks on the first or second go and most of them were so clean. He’s also got so much better since I last saw him ride. If the effect works as well as I hope, we should have a pretty sweet video.

Photo0679
IMG_8724
IMG_8725

It was nuts seeing that many cameras all next to each other recording at the same time. The red record lights were flashing away like the red lights on the front of KITT from Knight Rider. It looked so cool. I was so paranoid about the batteries running down on a camera and it screwing up the entire shoot but luckily we only had one or two go down and that was after we’d got most of the stuff we wanted anyway. We were only actually shooting for about 45 minutes.

Breaking down the rig was the most hectic part of the day. The tracking system came into its own when I took all the cameras off the rig. If I hadn’t done that, there’s no way everyone would have got the correct gear back. I had to swap one lens during the shoot when a camera went down and that was hard enough to work out which camera it had originally come off. Luckily everyone got their kit back and that was a wrap!

I took Matt home to Brackley, another 2 hour drive, and dropped Dom’s camera at his parents on the way back. I finally got in at 7:30pm and realised I hadn’t eaten all day. Opps!

Today I transferred all the footage from the cards onto the computer. There’s 148Gb worth, I’m going to need to buy a new hard drive to store it! I haven’t had time to watch much of it yet and I’ll have to wait until I put it together in Final Cut before I know if the effect has worked. Heres to hoping!

Photo0680

In slightly less exciting news…

I took my new wheel out for a test ride and to bed it in. I love the way it feels. I’m running 133mm Koxx street cranks on it and it feels super fast. It’s much lighter than the old setup but I haven’t ridden for ages so it’s going to take me a while to get back into it. I couldn’t even hop up the T-block at Buszy!
Photo0678

Lastly…

The Above & Beyond Acoustic premiere is tonight. I’m really looking forward to it. If you’re into dance music at all, I’d strongly suggest you tune in. It’s on Thump, the Vice music channel at 9pm GMT or 4pm EST.

Happy Friday readers!

