I’m posting this from the comfort of my bed!
I’ve revived my old laptop which I thought had died a death, apparently not. I fired it up yesterday and instantly remembered why I had stopped using it. I’d put Ubuntu on it but over a few months it had got slower and slower until it was unusable. A quick Google search later and I downloaded Lubuntu, a lightweight version of the Linux port. I installed it without any hassle and it seems to be working great. It’s pretty fast considering my laptop is almost prehistoric in technology terms. Facebook and WordPress both work extremely well. I haven’t tried Youtube yet though. Fingers crossed it lasts a bit longer this time.
Photo0624
For anyone out there with an old laptop that you want to revive, I’d highly recommend both Ubuntu and Lubuntu. They are easy to use, fully featured (You can get Linux versions or alternatives for most Windows programs) and best of all, they’re 100% free. To read more, or download either, head over to their website.

Cars
Something I’m looking at doing in the next few weeks is getting rid of my van and getting my Mk1 Austin Metro back on the road. The van has caused me nothing but hassle. It’s let me down 3 times over the christmas holidays and I don’t even need it anymore so it seems a bit crazy to hold onto it. The good thing about getting rid is that I’ll put the Metro back on the road.
I’m really excited about it. For those that don’t know, I bought the Metro from Elsie, a 91-year-old lady who had owned it from brand new. It’s an A reg, which means it was new in 1984, so it’s 30 years old this year! It has 24000 miles on the clock from new and it’s in absolutely mint condition. I’ve been storing it down my workshop for the last 2 years or so, so it will need a few bits doing before I bring it out of hibernation.
It’ll need all new ignition parts, points, condensor, rotor arm, distributor cap and leads. I’ll probably get new plugs too. It needs 2 new tyres and I know the clutch plate is stuck, so I’ll need to free that off. Apart from that, it shouldn’t need too much work. I love that car and I can’t wait to drive it again. I want to put some nice wheels on it but I’m undecided about what I should get. It’s running Minilites at the moment, but I think it looks good slammed on the standard steel wheels. The only problem with that is the negative camber scrubs the tyres out ridiculously fast. I’d love some starmags, but I don’t really have the money to shell out on a new set of wheels at the moment.
Here’s a few photos from when I had it on the road before.

With the Minilites, how it stands at the moment.
How it stands at the moment with the Minilites.

This is when it was on the standard steel wheels. It looked amazing slammed, but wore the tyres out mega fast.
This is when it was on the standard steel wheels. It looked amazing slammed, but wore the tyres out mega fast.

The inside. It's so basic which is partly why I love it.
The inside. It’s so basic which is partly why I love it.

More news on the Metro as I work on it.

That’s all for today folks. I’m back to college tomorrow and I have a title sequence to hand in, so I’m off to get it finished!

