New Music

This last couple of weeks has been pretty good for me music wise. I mentioned in an earlier post that drum & bass newcomers Hybrid Minds released their debut album on 1st December. I got my hands on it yesterday and I’ve been listening to it almost non-stop. I’d heard a lot of the tracks already from various mixes and the Hybrid Minds Monday podcasts but it’s good to finally hear the whole album.
It’s interesting how they’ve got MC Tempza on a couple of the tracks. I think it works really well and not something you hear on a studio album very often. I’m hard pushed to pick a favourite track. I really like the rapping on a couple of the tracks but Hybrid Minds are best at liquid rollers so for me, it’s a toss-up between New Orleans, Trauma and the title track, Mountains.

This album is massive. Get it!
http://spearheadrecords.bigcartel.com/



YouTube Subs

I’ve also had some nice tracks pop up in my Youtube subscriptions this week too, which is a welcome change to the last few months.
First up is this beauty of a remix by Colossus. I’ve never heard the original before but this version goes HARD! I absolutely love that jungle-esque drum sample. The lyrics are a bit cheesy but the voice sounds good and I don’t think it takes anything away from the track.

Next up is this epic sounding melody of synth, drums and vocals from OffBeatKiD. It’s quite short, ends abruptly and the production quality isn’t up there but I’m going to watch this producer, I like his style.

Finally, I feel this deserves a mention. It’s been in my favourites for a bit longer than the other two tracks but I don’t want to forget about it. I have no idea what first attracted me to this track, but the more I listen to it, the more I like it. It’s just upbeat, summery and fun! It reminds me of something from the 80’s and 90’s rolled into one.


Above & Beyond Acoustic

Last but but no means least. I saw this trailer on Vice last night, oh my goodness! A&B are up there with my favourite dance music producers, they make beautiful music. This gig looks like it was absolutely amazing. I’m pretty gutted I never heard about it at the time, it would have been a truly great experience. Lot’s of these tracks give me chills already, so hearing acoustic versions will be awesome! I’m looking forward to the show being aired, in the meantime, check out what I’m talking about.

I’m done for today. Peace!

