Busy Boxing Day

I’ve got a few things to chat about this evening.
First up is about how I’ve apparently become soft since I was a kid. I say this because today I was riding my BMX at the local skatepark and I came off. It wasn’t a bad fall. I was manualling round the deck of a quarter, a move which I’ve done hundreds of times before, and my rear tyre washed out because it was a bit wet and slippy. I held onto the bars with one hand and managed to catch myself by putting the other hand down but somehow my bike hit the side of my right knee. Agony surged through my knee. I got up, aware that an entire young family had just witnessed what had happened and tried to play it cool by getting straight back on my bike and taking another run. The pain was just too much. My face felt hot and I tried to fight back the tears. Defeated, I headed home to Mum.
Ok, I didn’t actually cry, but fuck it hurt. A few years ago I wouldn’t have even thought about a fall like that. I would have brushed it off and ridden for the rest of the session. nowadays if something like that happens it really does stop the ride dead. It’s still hurting now, I hope it doesn’t last too long. Things like this make me realise that I’m not indestructible and that as I get older, riding is only going to get harder and scarier. Suddenly I know exactly why those old guys at the skatepark are padded up to the eyeballs.

Next up, more slider stuff!
Ok, I know I’ve been banging on about this for a while but I’ve made a few tweaks and got it to a state that I’ll call finished. I’ve added threaded holes below the rails to hold them in place. They were a tight interference fit but over time they’ll wear and I don’t want it falling apart. I managed to take some decent photos too, so enjoy.
Photo0609
IMG_8629
IMG_8632
IMG_8628
IMG_8630
IMG_8631
IMG_8633

I’m going to be making another on of these babies in the new year. I’ve got the material for the ends and loads of ideas for the MkII already. I’m going to have grub screws instead of button heads for the rail clamping screws. It’ll look much neater. I’m also going to see if I can blag access to a mill so I can reduce the weight by removing some unnesacary material from the end brackets. Something I’m going to have a go at too is annodising the ends. It won’t actually improve the performance but it will make it look uber pimp and a lot more pro. More on that project when I get round to making a start on it.

After being so busy all the time, it’s hard to sit around and do nothing and I’ve noticed it big time over these last couple of days. Yesterday (Christmas Day) I didn’t go anywhere or do anything. I sat at home, played stupid games with the fam and eat myself stupid. Today I felt like I had to get out or I’d go insane. After the BMX incident (See above) I decided to go out on a bit of a ride on my commuter bike. It’s safer, I could explore a bit and test my new lights. I decided to go out and just see where the wind took me. Sometimes I love going out in search of new spots to ride on my unicycle. The weather has been so rubbish lately with gale force winds and torrential rain so it was nice to be out with the sun shining. I took a few photos on my 2MP camera phone, they don’t do the scenery justice, but they do look pretty cool.
I stopped near this massive field to soak up the sun.
Photo0593
I saw this sight at the top of a pretty steep climb. It’s a gate I’ve driven past a million and one times but never noticed the view before. That’s what I like about cycling. You go so much slower, you get time to notice things that you never would in the car.
Photo0596
This is a sand pit that I’ve always thought looked amazing for muni. It’s changed quite a bit since I was last there, more fences have gone up and a lot of the high cliffs have been levelled out. It was pretty nice to sit and take in the view for a few minutes though.
Untitled-1

Lastly, I saw this video today. It’s almost 20 minutes long but really interesting. Obviously MTB’s and road bikes already use tubeless tyres but this is the first time I’ve seen it done on a BMX. I wonder if it will catch on. I’ve got my doubts about how practical it’ll be for park and street riding. Also it’s a lot more fucking about to change a tyre and I can’t see a lot of BMX riders putting up with it.
I’m curious if it’ll have a useful application in unicycling. I know some muni riders run tubeless setups but it might be interesting to see if it has any advantages in street or trials. It would certainly save a bit more weight for the weenies out there. You can read more about it on Alienation’s website. Check it out.

Very quickly, I’ve been listening to this quite a bit over the last few days. Liquicity has gone massively downhill over the last year or so, so it was nice to hear that the YearMix actually has some quality tunes in it. There’s lots of questionable ones in there too, but it’s pretty good on the whole. Have a listen if you’re into DnB.

One thought on “Busy Boxing Day

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

